#TheWriteReads #BlogTour Review: Legends Rise by Devri Walls (Venators #3)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

So much information but somehow you end up wanting to know even more

Thank you so much to The Write Reads and Devri Walls for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary digital copy!

Review

Book CWs

For a list of warnings, tropes, and representation for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

Premise

In the third installment of the Venators series, Rune, Grey, and their companions Beltran and Verida have set off together to save their mentor Tate from the gladiator games. As their group struggles to stay together under the strain of their situation, Rune’s twin brother Ryker is falling more surely into the clutches of Zio the sorceress, who has her own plots for the future of Eon, and the Venators.

The path will be forged in sweat and blood.

Rune, Grey, the shape-shifter Beltran, and willful vampire, Verida, set out to rescue their friend and mentor, Tate, from the gladiator games. But first they must navigate the perils of Eon and its warring factions. Each of this band of four carries with them a secret that threatens to tear their group apart from within. Rune now bears the mark of the promise she made to save Grey’s life-a nixie bubble lodged in her arm that could call her away to do their bidding or spell her death.
Even as their loyalty to their cause and to one another faces its greatest test, Rune’s twin brother Ryker is forging an alliance with their mortal enemy, the powerful sorceress Zio, who has plans of her own for the Venators and Eon. Hearts will be bared, secrets unveiled, and relationships made and destroyed in this stunning new installment of the Venators series. 

Review (No Spoilers)

If you want to read my reviews for the first two books, you can click here for book 1 and here for book 2.

As with the previous installments, Legends Rise is full of action, excitement, and twists. Devri Walls has no problem catching my interest in her novels and making me wish I could read faster. She is very talented when it comes to writing action sequences and there’s so much to consume that you can’t help but feel the temptation to flip through pages and skip to the end.

Something I should warn you about is that if you plan on reading Venators, I’d recommend reading all of the novels back-to-back. Each book kind of just ends without much of a conclusion so the next book picks right back up where the previous started. This style is probably what founded my biggest complaint when reading this book: sometimes I felt like too much information was being thrown at me. In the beginning, I would often get lost trying to remember what had already happened and if I was supposed to be recognizing certain names and histories. If you read the books shortly after each other (or if you have a better memory), you should have a much easier time than I did.

Usually I prefer to read series of 3 books or less but I can’t wait to see what the next installment has in store.

2 thoughts on “#TheWriteReads #BlogTour Review: Legends Rise by Devri Walls (Venators #3)

Leave a comment