#TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour Review: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Full of twists, turns, riddles, and everything else I love about mystery novels!

Thank you so much to The Write Reads and Jennifer Lynn Barnes for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary digital copy!

Review

Book CWs

For a list of warnings (and tropes) for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

Premise

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Review (No Spoilers)

Wow! I have no idea where to even start in this review because I loved this book so much. I honestly forgot what the blurb was when I started reading it and was having a lot of fun before the actual plot even started which is a huge testament to how well-written this novel is. .

The plot itself is chalk-full of riddles which is something I absolutely love about mystery novels. Additionally, I felt like each riddle was handled very well. I am far too used to YA novels making their protagonists foolish and oblivious in order to push the story forward (a huge pet peeve for me) and The Inheritance Games basically did the complete opposite. Having several clever and quick-witted characters is, in my opinion, the driving force of the book and by far my favorite part.

You can definitely count me in for a sequel. In fact, I just might have found a new auto-buy author!

#TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour Review: The Beast and the Bethany by Jack Meggitt-Phillips

Rating: 4 out of 5.

An enjoyable read for all ages!

Thank you so much to The Write Reads and Jack Meggitt-Phillips for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary digital copy!

Review

Book CWs

For a list of warnings (and tropes) for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

Premise

The most exciting new children’s book of 2020 and a modern classic in the making.The Beast and the Bethany has all the classic macabre humour of Roald Dahl with the warmth and charm of Despicable Me, finished off with a gleeful bite of Little Shop of Horrors! This book should be on every little monster’s birthday and Christmas list.

Ebenezer Tweezer is a youthful 511-year-old. He keeps a beast in the attic of his mansion, who he feeds all manner of things (including performing monkeys, his pet cat and the occasional cactus) and in return the beast vomits out presents for Ebenezer, as well as potions which keep him young and beautiful. But the beast grows ever greedier, and soon only a nice, juicy child will do. So when Ebenezer encounters orphan Bethany, it seems like (everlasting) life will go on as normal. But Bethany is not your average orphan…

Review (No Spoilers)

This book was a hoot from start to finish! As an adult I never quite know what to expect when reading children’s/middle grade books, but this one really knew how to appeal to multiple ages.

The premise is pretty dark–so keep that in mind if you want your kids to enjoy this–but each issue is tackled with a never-ending sense of humor that made it light and easy to read. I laughed several times while reading this book and I can easily imagine that it will be a 5-star hit with adults, teens, and pre-teens alike. (Just check out how many 5-star reviews are on this tour alone!)

If you’re interested in reading The Beast and the Bethany (coming out October 1st), preorder your copy now!

Blog Tour Review: Accidentally in Love by Belinda Missen

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A breath of fresh air.

Foreword

Thank you so much to Rachel at https://www.rachelsrandomresources.com/ and Belinda Missen for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary digital copy and blog tour media kit!

If you’d like to get a copy of Accidentally in Love, you can find it here!

About the Author

Find her at the above links!

Author and sometimes foodie, Belinda is a ridiculous romantic who met her husband after being set up by a friend two states away.

Residing in country Victoria, surrounded by books, cat-fur, and half-eaten cake, Belinda divides her days between writing rom-coms, baking, and indulging her love of comic books.

Review

Book CWs: This book contains some content that may be upsetting for some readers. For a list of warnings for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

Premise

Don’t miss the new laugh-out-loud rom com from the author of One Week ’Til Christmas!

Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Rosie Walsh and Josie Silver.


In the space of a week, Katharine Patterson has quit her job, decided to move back home, and broken up with the guy she thought was the one.

No big deal.

Because Katharine has a plan. She’s going to open her own art gallery, just like she’s always wanted. What she’s not going to do is worry about boyfriends.

Then she meets Kit, a handsome and talented local artist. He might be the most stubborn person Katharine has ever met. He might also make her feel like no one ever has before.

And Katharine might be about to fall accidentally in love…

Review (No Spoilers)

I’m in a bit of a reading slump (and I’m in the middle of a move) so this is the first book that I’ve read in September. I’m happy to say that it started off this month of reading on a good note! I had a good feeling about this book just from the blurb but once I realized it has one of my favorite romance tropes (hate-to-love), I was hooked.

Accidentally in Love was a nice break from my usual romance books. If you follow me on Twitter you know that I often joke about the predictability of romance but I actually felt like this book was a breath of fresh air from that. While it did hit some standard plot points that almost all romances follow, the naked realness of the characters was something I wasn’t expecting and it was ultimately my favorite part of this experience.

The people in this book were emotional and messy, but that’s what made them so relatable. I had no trouble putting myself in any/all of the character’s shoes to understand their actions. The plot flowed seamlessly and at no point did I feel like an arc was silly or contrived. I will admit that the ending seemed a bit rushed and unexpected but everything leading up to it was magical.

If you’re looking for a quick, cute, and realistic read, definitely give this book a try. I read it in 24 hours and I’m hoping this turns into a series of interconnected standalone novels because I don’t think I’m quite ready to let these characters go.

Feel free to check out the other reviews in this blog tour in the graphic below!