Blog Tour Review: Killer Content by Kiley Roache

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Another entertaining and thrilling YA mystery

Thank you so much to TBR and Beyond and Kiley Roache for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary ARC and media kit!

Book Information

Genre: YA Mystery Thriller
Publishing Date: November 20, 2021

Knives Out meets One of Us is Lying! In this paperback original thriller a group of famous TikTokers find themselves turning on each other when one member of the group turns up dead at their beachfront Malibu mansion.

35 million followers. One dead body.

The six teenagers who make up the Hype House seem to have it all. A beach front Malibu mansion, millions of TikTok followers, model good looks, and sponsorship deals up to $30,000 per post. Everything’s pretty much a Gen-Z paradise. Except that one member of the house has just turned up dead in the infinity pool. And the rest of them are suspects.

When the group TikTok account starts posting cryptic messages about the murder, the police limit their investigation to the members of the house. Now old joke videos are filed as evidence and past rivalries start to look like motives.

As investigators dig into these influencers’ lives beyond their glossy internet personalities, they discover all five had reasons their lives would’ve been easier with Sydney Reynolds dead. But only one of them killed her.

Underlined is a line of totally addictive romance, thriller, and horror paperback original titles coming to you fast and furious each month. Enjoy everything you want to read the way you want to read it.

Content and Trigger Warnings

For a list of warnings, tropes, and representation for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

About the Author

Kiley Roache is the author of young adult novels FRAT GIRL and THE DATING GAME (HarperCollins / Inkyard Press) and the upcoming novel KILLER CONTENT, which will be published by Penguin Random House/ Underlined on Nov. 30, 2021. Kiley grew up in the Chicago-area, and has been writing since the 7th grade. She signed with a literary agent days before graduating high school.

She is a graduate of Stanford University where she studied Political Science and holds a master’s degree from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

Kiley has also worked as a journalist, and her bylines are in The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and Businessweek among others. She was the 2018 Daniel Pearl Memorial Journalism Intern, reporting for The Wall Street Journal from the London bureau. She wrote an op-ed for The New York Times’s “On Campus” series entitled “The Future of Frats” arguing that fraternities should go co-ed. It was the lead story in the Times’s “The Edit” newsletter that week.

She now lives in Los Angeles in a house with three of her close friends. When she’s not writing she can be found justifying the purchase of cold brew coffee, reading at the beach, or singing karaoke without hitting a single note.

Review (no spoilers)

If you’d like to follow along with the rest of the tour, you can find the tour schedule here.

When I first saw the cover of this book, I was hooked. It is very reminiscent of Karen McManus’ covers, so you know right away what kind of story it’s going to be.

Killer Content was a very unique YA mystery for me, specifically because it is extremely modern. I mean, the main characters are a bunch of famous TikTok stars! This might have literally been the first book that I’ve ever read that even mentions TikTok! The story follows a group of social media influencers who all live in the same house in order to boost their engagement as much as possible. Things are going well for them until one of them shows up dead—now the rest of them are the main, and only, suspects.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time reading this book, which was particularly surprising because I honestly hated all of the characters. Most of them are spoiled, privileged, selfish, and often down-right mean. The comparison of this book to the comedy-mystery film Knives Out (a movie that I loved btw) made so much more sense to me after I started reading it. The characters are so thoroughly despicable, but I literally could not put the book down. Roache has a real talent when it comes to engaging writing. I was very impressed by her ability to not only capture my attention immediately, but to keep it throughout.

The biggest, and only, gripe that I had with the novel was that I guessed the big twist almost immediately. On top of that, it literally made no sense. I kept wanting my guess to be wrong, because I sincerely hoped that there was going to be a better and more believable explanation. Once it finally got revealed, I just dropped my hands to the side and basically said, “well, that was super fun to read anyways!”. I couldn’t even really be mad about it.

If you’re interested in reading Killer Content, definitely check it out! This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus, Diana Urban, and Maureen Johnson! Grab your copy today!

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: Killer Content by Kiley Roache

  1. Lady Tessa December 5, 2021 / 1:28 pm

    This does sound like a fun read, and you are so right – the cover reminds me of a Karen McManus book too. Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s