Blog Tour Review: The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Another amazing mystery novel by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.

Thank you so much to TBR and Beyond and Jennifer Lynn Barnes for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary eARC and media kit!

Book Information

Genre: Young Adult Mystery
Publishing Date: July 13, 2021

Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she’s not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary.

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.

Purchase/Information Links:

Content and Trigger Warnings

For a list of warnings, tropes, and representation for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

About the Author

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

Review (no spoilers)

If you’d like to follow along with the rest of the tour, you can find the tour schedule here.

This book was one of my most anticipated reads of 2021, and I’m happy to say that it didn’t disappoint! Its predecessor The Inheritance Games was one of the best YA mysteries (if not the best) that I’ve ever read. When I found out that TBR and Beyond Tours was doing a tour for this, I screamed all through the sign up process. If you want to read my review of The Inheritance Games, you can click here.

Since I loved The Inheritance Games so much, I couldn’t stop myself from comparing the two novels. Although I didn’t enjoy this novel as much, I remain incredibly impressed with Jennifer Lynn Barnes and her writing. Not only does she have a writing style that keeps me interested and compelled, but it is also clear just how much brain power goes into her stories. I read a fair amount of YA mysteries and something that usually bothers me about them is that the main characters almost always do something completely stupid for reasons I never understand. While the characters in The Hawthorne Legacy do frustrate me sometimes, it always because they were emotionally reacting to something in a way I didn’t like, not because they were being unnecessarily foolish.

I read a few reviews before sitting down to write this and some people have complained about the pacing of the story because a lot of the action happens at the very end. While I agree that pace at the end of the book picked up quite a lot, I was perfectly fine with the pacing of the rest of the novel. The reason I love Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ mysteries is because she keeps my brain churning in the most satisfying way throughout the novel, and there was no lack of that here. I never felt like the book was going “too slow” because my thoughts never stopped moving.

Something that I think I should mention in this review, just in case some of my readers are like me when it comes to tropes: this book was a love triangle going on. This was hinted at in the first book, but explore more in this installment. I’m someone who normally can’t stand love triangles, but somehow Jennifer Lynn Barnes made it work for me. I’ve never rooted for all sides of a love triangle before, yet that’s what I found myself doing here. I honestly think that no matter what the outcome of the triangle will be, I will be fine with it. It’s amazing that Jennifer Lynn Barnes was able to pull it off so well.

If you’re on the hunt for a thrilling YA mystery novel definitely check this series out. I’m very much looking forward to the next installment! The Hawthorne Legacy came out earlier this week, so you can pick up your copy today!

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

  1. I loved Inheritance Games but I’ve been on the fence about this one. I read some early reviews and it seemed like it didn’t have the same appeal as the first one. I have it on my TBR though, so eventually I’ll give it a go. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s