Blog Tour Spotlight: Lies Like Wildfire by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Today I’m bringing attention to the book Lies Like Wildfire by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. I’ll take you through the blurb, about the author, and a few tour excerpts!

Premise

An intense high-stakes story about five friends and the deadly secret that could send their lives up in flames, perfect for fans of Karen McManus and E. Lockhart.

In Gap Mountain, California, everyone knows about fire season. And no one is more vigilant than 18-year-old Hannah Warner, the sheriff’s daughter and aspiring FBI agent. That is until this summer. When Hannah and her best friends accidentally spark an enormous and deadly wildfire, their instinct is to lie to the police and the fire investigators.

But as the blaze roars through their rural town and towards Yosemite National Park, Hannah’s friends begin to crack and she finds herself going to extreme lengths to protect their secret. Because sometimes good people do bad things. And if there’s one thing people hate, it’s liars.

Book CWs: For a list of warnings, tropes, and representation for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

About the Author

I received my B.A. in English from the University of California at Berkeley. I’m fascinated by underdogs and power dynamics between groups of people. 

I’m the author of LIES LIKE WILDFIRE, a teen thriller soon-to-be published by Delacorte Press, and two middle grade book series, each published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, THE GUARDIAN HERD (a quartet) and RIDERS OF THE REALM (a trilogy). Before this, I self-published a middle grade fantasy called THE PET WASHER. 

When I’m not writing, you’ll find me galloping my little black mare through the foothills of Sonoma County or teaching free creative writing workshops to kids and adults at various branches of our local library system. 

The Healdsburg Literary Guild selected me as their 2019/2020 Literary Laureate for my work in building literacy in my community. It is an honor I hold dear. I am also the current SCBWI Sonoma County Coordinator and a volunteer on the Sonoma County Library Advisory Board.

I live in Northern California with my husband, three children, and more than my fair share of pets!

What readers have to say

Lies Like Wildfire is the epitome of high-octane, fast-paced action, and was the absolute perfect binge-read. I struggled to put it down throughout, and when I wasn’t reading fervently, I was thinking about the characters and worrying about what would happen next. Needless to say, it’s a book that stays with you after finishing, too.

Feathered Books

This book is a complete page-turner, and I think everyone’s going to struggle to put it down once they start. It’s a fantastic YA thriller and I can’t wait to read more from this author, because there’s nothing I love more than messy characters doing awful things and trying to dig themselves out of it again.

Inkandplasma Reviews

Everything about this was just brilliant, from the setting, to the characters and plot. Lies Like Wildfire is a ride from start to finish, so many elements and variables were thrown into the mix, I didn’t see half of it coming.

Fantastic Book Dragon

It is described as a YA book, so as a 30 year old reader who doesn’t really read much YA, it came as a surprise to me how much I enjoyed it. The writing is simple and accessible, the structure easy to follow, but the plot and themes are definitely engaging for adults of all ages.

Ceri’s Lil Blog

Lies Like Wildfire is an intense, emotional and addictive story about secrets and lies and the cost that they can have on yourself and those around you. It is an edge of your seat read that I would highly recommend.

everywhere & nowhere

Disclaimer: Most posts made on this blog will include affiliate links, identified by the phrase (affiliate link). As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you.

One thought on “Blog Tour Spotlight: Lies Like Wildfire by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s