Blog Tour Review: The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A slow-burn contemporary romance that tackles the dangers of both peer and parental pressure.

Thank you so much to TBR and Beyond and Whitney D. Grandison for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary eARC and media kit!

Book Information

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Publishing Date: July 13, 2021

He’s never met a rule he didn’t break… She’s followed the rules her whole life… When they meet, one golden rule is established: stay away. Sparks fly in this edgy own voices novel, perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, S. K. Ali, and Kristina Forest.

They were supposed to ignore each other and respect that fine line between them…

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. Being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…

Purchase/Information Links:

Content and Trigger Warnings

For a list of warnings, tropes, and representation for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

About the Author

Whitney D. Grandison is an American young adult fiction writer. Some of her works can be found on Wattpad, one of the largest online story sharing platforms, where she has acquired over 30,000 followers and an audience of over sixteen million reads. Outside of writing, she is a lover of Korean dramas, all things John Hughes, and horror films. Whitney currently lives in Akron, Ohio with her two cats Poe & Hemingway. A Love Hate Thing is her first novel.

Review (no spoilers)

If you’d like to follow along with the rest of the tour, you can find the tour schedule here.

I have to admit that I’m a HUGE SUCKER for illustrated covers like these. Every time I go to a bookstore and see these books, I have to resist the urge to buy all of them. When I opened my email and saw that TBR and Beyond Tours was offering this book for review, I jumped at the chance.

The Right Side of Reckless is tagged as a romance on Goodreads, but as you can see above, I definitely think this is more of a contemporary with romantic elements. While there is a slow-burn romance involved, the point of the story (to me at least) was about watching these two teenagers grow into themselves despite constant pressure to do otherwise.

On one hand of the spectrum, we have Guillermo, a confident young man who made a lot of mistakes in the past and is now attempting to atone and learn from them. On the other hand of the spectrum, we have Regan, a young woman who has for far too long let everyone else dictate her life for her, forever refusing to stand up for herself. The two of them may seem like complete opposites, but they share a common ground when it comes to dealing with societal pressure.

I’ll admit that there were a few times where I found myself extremely frustrated with almost everyone in the book, but as an adult, it’s probably just be because this is a YA novel. I personally have a really hard time with reading toxic parental relationships but they’re almost impossible to avoid (especially in YA contemporary). This book falls into the category of “parents who are so overbearing that they are ultimately hurting their children in an effort to protect them”. Every time I read a YA novel like this with unsupportive parents, I feel like I need to cleanse my soul by reading 5 books with extremely supportive parents. I really hope to see less of these parent-child relationships in future YA novels.

As a whole, I thought this book was pretty cute. The plot was predictable, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the story. I do think that the pacing could have been done a bit better. The majority of the book happens in 2 months, which was way too short of a time period for me to feel comfortable with the pacing the romance as well as some of the other side plots. I also think the character growth/change that occurred within both Regan and Avery happened all at one time rather than gradually. I’m honestly still super confused about Avery’s personality, but who knows? Maybe we’ll get a spin-off?

If you’re on the hunt for a slow-burn, diverse novel that tackles peer and parental pressure, I’d definitely recommend checking The Right Side of Reckless out. It was released yesterday so you can also pick up your copy in store or at any of the purchase links listed above!

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison

  1. Sounds like an interesting one! I always jump at covers like this as well. They are just so bright and pretty, it’s hard not to isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s