#TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour Review: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Full of twists, turns, riddles, and everything else I love about mystery novels!

Thank you so much to The Write Reads and Jennifer Lynn Barnes for allowing me to be part of this experience and also providing me with a complimentary digital copy!

Review

Book CWs

For a list of warnings (and tropes) for this book, check out its page on BookTriggerWarnings.com.

Premise

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Review (No Spoilers)

Wow! I have no idea where to even start in this review because I loved this book so much. I honestly forgot what the blurb was when I started reading it and was having a lot of fun before the actual plot even started which is a huge testament to how well-written this novel is. .

The plot itself is chalk-full of riddles which is something I absolutely love about mystery novels. Additionally, I felt like each riddle was handled very well. I am far too used to YA novels making their protagonists foolish and oblivious in order to push the story forward (a huge pet peeve for me) and The Inheritance Games basically did the complete opposite. Having several clever and quick-witted characters is, in my opinion, the driving force of the book and by far my favorite part.

You can definitely count me in for a sequel. In fact, I just might have found a new auto-buy author!

10 thoughts on “#TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour Review: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

  1. This book sounds really fun! I love watching these types of movies, but it’s been years since I’ve read a book like this. Thanks for the great review! I’ll have to check this book out! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s