Book Review: Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James (Please Don’t Read This Book)

Rating: 1.5/5

This was the most frustrating thing I’ve ever read.

Book CWs

  • Abuse (physical, sexual, emotional)
  • Sexual Assault
  • Statutory Rape
  • Stalking

Premise

Anastasia Steele is a senior in college who is just about to graduate. When her friend Kate becomes sick and cannot interview wealthy businessman Christian Grey, Ana steps in to take her place.

What Ana didn’t expect was that after the interview, both she and Christian would be come drawn to each other in ways that neither of them were prepared for. Will they be able to make their romance last?

Review (No Spoilers)

So I didn’t include this in the premise but by now I’m sure that pretty much everyone knows that this is a BDSM romance story. I also think that a lot of you have probably heard the mixed reviews that this book has gotten. I have to say that all the negative things were so true and I honestly wish I had never read this book.

I tried to pick this book up years ago because I was curious about all the hype (positive and negative). I got maybe 1/4 of the way through before I gave up. Up to that point I had found myself laughing at how ridiculous everything was.

The reason I tried to reread this book again was for the Defense Against the Dark Arts prompt in House Battles which is to read a book you DNFed. I figured Fifty Shades would be a quick read and that I’d be able to get through it fairly painlessly.

I was wrong.

This book made me so angry while I was reading it. Christian is a controlling, abusive POS and Ana just forgives him for anything because she’s so hot for him. *insert eye roll* I couldn’t believe that this book was written and I definitely couldn’t believe that so many people actually liked it.

The sad part is I think it had the potential to actually be a good story if E L James just took the time to not perpetuate abuse and to do research into how to portray BDSM in a healthy way.

I gave it 1.5 stars because Kate was the best thing to ever happen to this book and Ana actually stood up for herself at one point that had me literally cheering (though she felt bad for doing it afterward which was annoying). I don’t recommend this to anyone.

Leave a comment